Thinking Disorder

Addiction is a baffling disease. It hijacks the survival instinct.  It makes you think differently.  It creates so much pain and destruction for the suffering addict and their loved ones.  I have been impacted by the disease of addiction as a child, spouse and mother.  The emotional dysregulation addiction causes is so painful especially for the highly sensitive – like me.  Our brains are wired for survival.  Dopamine is released when we do things for our survival.  Chemicals like drugs and alcohol cause us to release dopamine.  The brain is tricked into thinking that is good for survival.  Helping others releases dopamine.  The brain is tricked again.  Because not all helping is good for my survival.  I am learning the difference between good and bad helping.  I can now recognize the impulse to step in and rescue.  It is a normal survival instinct.  But it is not always the healthiest for me to take charge.  I don’t have to act.  I can pause, pray and ask for guidance.  My recovery has not been a straight path to health.  There have been a lot of detours.  Changing my perspective and adjusting my attitude has helped me to think more clearly and to feel better.

Leave a comment